skip to navigation | skip to content

Home  :  News
District News & Information

Back to Articles

2020 Superintendent’s Scholarships Announced

The Lafayette Parish School System is pleased to announce that 29 students were awarded scholarships through the Superintendent’s Scholarship Committee. The scholarship money is raised through the fundraising efforts of the Superintendent’s Annual Golf Tournament held in the spring of the previous year.

The committee awarded three $2,000 awards to the highest three scoring applicants, four $1,500 awards to the next highest scoring applicants, and awarded 22 $1,000 awards to the remaining applicants. A total of 29 awards were designated for a total of $34,000.  They are:
$2,000 Scholarship    
Jacob Tate, Lafayette High School                
Addie Lopez, Lafayette High School                        
Morgan Domingue, Lafayette High School                    
$1,500 Scholarship        
Aviana San Souci, Lafayette High School                        
Allie Comeaux, Lafayette High School                    
HunterBarras, Lafayette High School
Madelyn Richard, Southside High School
$1,000 Scholarship    
Bryli Beaner, Acadiana High School
Jose Espinoza, David Thibodaux STEM Magnet Academy
Christopher Musgrove, Southside High School
JosephArceneaux, Acadiana HighSchool
JordanMelancon, Early College Academy
Broty Stelly, David Thibodaux STEM Magnet Academy
Drue McGinn, Lafayette High School
Deborah Fossier, Lafayette High School
Jacques Comeaux, Lafayette High School
Jadyn Prejean, Early College Academy
Bailey Auzenne, Lafayette High School
Jordan    Breaux, Carencro High School
A'Jaysia Joseph, Lafayette High School
Emma LeBouef, Lafayette High School
Gabrielle Baillargeon, Lafayette High School
Lane Bergeron, Comeaux High School
Stanley Melton, David Thibodaux STEM Magnet Academy
Audrey Laper, David Thibodaux STEM Magnet Academy
Reed Bergeron, Comeaux High School
Gyana Gibson, Early College Academy                                
Kayla Watson, Southside High School
Anna Broussard, David Thibodaux STEM Magnet Academy
Applicants must meet the following eligibility criteria to be considered:

  • Begin his/her freshman year in 2019-2020 at an accredited Louisiana college, university, or vocational-technical school
  • Enroll as a full time student (12 or more hours)
  • Finish high school with an overall 2.5 G.P.A. or higher on a 4.0 scale
  • Demonstrate financial need
The selection process is based on the following:
  • The committee prioritizes applications by level of need and assigns three tiers.  In addition to income, the amount of scholarship awarded from other sources  is taken into account.
  • Each application is scored according to four factors: ACT score, GPA, number of siblings, and essay score.

The superintendent would like to thank the following committee members for selecting these winners.
Randy Bernard, LPSS Academic Specialist; Nic Jeffers, Director of Athletics, Physical Education and Health; Traci Aucoin, Director of GEAR UP; and Tonya Hebert, Coordinator of Student Placement and Counseling Services.

Congratulations to all of these students.