skip to navigation | skip to content

Home  :  News
District News & Information

Back to Articles

2018 Teacher Awards Finalists Announced By Lafayette Education Foundation

On December 12, Lafayette Parish public, private, charter and parochial schools were visited by the Lafayette Education Foundation (LEF) Finalist Patrol to recognize the sixteen finalists for the 2018 LEF Teacher Awards.  The annual LEF Teacher Awards recognizes Lafayette Parish educators whose dedication and commitment greatly impact the lives of their students.

Jillian Dickerson, LEF Programs Director says, “LEF received over 1,400 nomination letters this year, nominating 782 educators in Lafayette Parish. We at LEF are excited to recognize teachers in Lafayette Parish that impact the community and promote excellence in education. The selection panels have chosen sixteen teachers whom we are honored to recognize for the 20th Annual LEF Teacher Awards.”

LEF invites you to join us as we celebrate the sixteen finalists in an Academy Awards style event. The LEF Teacher Awards, to be held January 18, 2018 at the Heymann Performing Arts Center, will begin at 7:30 p.m. followed by a reception in the Frem F. Boustany Convention Center directly behind the Heymann Center. Tickets are currently available at all TicketMaster Outlets and the Heymann Performing Arts Center.

The 20th Annual LEF Teacher Awards is presented by Lafayette Education Foundation, The Daily Advertiser, Acadian Companies, Capital One Bank, Cox Communications, Entergy, Horace Mann, Giles Automotive, Ntense Technologies, 99.9 KTDY, and KATC-TV 3.

2018 Lafayette Education Foundation  Teacher Awards Finalists

Elementary School Category
Becky Cade - J. Wallace James Elementary
Catherine Hartweck - J. W. Faulk Elementary
Julie Miller - Episcopal School of Acadiana
Courtney Vincent - Broadmoor Elementary and Lafayette High

Middle School Category
Jennifer E. Caillier - Our Lady of Fatima Catholic School
Karl Comeaux - Edgar Martin Middle  
Lisette Rignault Henderson - Paul Breaux Middle and Early College Academy
Arlecia Patrice Malveaux - Acadiana Renaissance Charter Academy

High School Category
John Broussard - Acadiana High
Nicholas Credeur - Lafayette High
Philip Ryland - Acadiana High
Jacob Simon - Comeaux High

Inspirational Category
Dana Rivera - Broadmoor Elementary
Lance Strother - St. Thomas More Catholic High
Beth Viator - Our Lady of Fatima Catholic School
Chad Viator - LPSS Talented Program