skip to navigation | skip to content

Home  :  News
District News & Information

Back to Articles

Society of Petroleum Engineers Awards Science Grants to Lafayette Parish Schools

On the evening of December 10, the Evangeline Section of the Society of Petroleum Engineers held a recognition ceremony at the Petroleum Club for the recipients of their School Science Grants. The purpose of the grants is to support education related to petroleum engineering and related sciences.  A selection committee awarded grants to applicants based on the “level of industry/technical application, project scale and effort applied to the application.”  Ten teachers in eight Lafayette Parish Public Schools were chosen for grants totaling $4,400:

●    Catherine Ishee, Broadmoor Elementary
●    Judy Morgan, Charles M. Burke Elementary
●    Lisa Ranney, Comeaux High
●    Chelsea Thomas, Duson Elementary
●    Aimee Yandle, Edgar Martin Middle
●    Barbara Helveston, Edgar Martin Middle
●    Brandy Welch, Edgar Martin Middle
●    Phoebe Boutte, L.J. Alleman Middle
●    Michelle Landry, Lafayette High School
●    Susan Yerino, Woodvale Elementary

The Evangeline Section of the Society of Petroleum Engineers has a long history of partnership with Lafayette schools.  The first grants were awarded in 1999 to Woodvale Elementary and Broadmoor Elementary.  Since that time the Society has awarded a minimum of $10,000 each year in grants to Lafayette area schools.